Amanda Plummer

The first song I ever wrote.

All we need is more Amanda Plummer
Without her we’re in hell, watching Dumb and Dumber
All we need is more Amanda Plummer
She’s the hot sun rising and I just can’t wait for summer

I don’t need an Elle McPherson waving at me with her hips
I only want Amanda playing wacky word-games, trading riffs

She’s the Pulp in my fiction, she’s the Needful in my Thing
Nostradamus Prophesized I will be her Fisher King
We’ll be Drunks on the Freeway with not an Axe in sight
Drinking Static orange soda ’til we see the Last Light

And if Amanda’s star should fall, if she should lose it, mind and all
We’ll have a service, with roses
And a eulogy for her
And shout her name and celebrate her career

All we need is another Amanda Plummer
And if you can’t find one just let your taste get popular
Grow stale and comfortably number
All we need is another Amanda Plummer
We watched her star pass over and the light die from her eyes
As she gave her all for us

Leave a Reply

